NFHCA logo


Forty-nine Wyoming Valley Conference field hockey players were rewarded Monday for their performance in the classroom.
The National Field Hockey Coaches Association released its High School National Academic Squad, which featured more than 2,770 student-athletes from 344 high schools.
Locally, 49 student-athletes from nine schools made the cut.
Dallas (10 selections) had the most selections of any WVC member school, trailed closely by Holy Redeemer (eight), Valley West (seven) and Crestwood (six).
Wyoming Area and Wyoming Seminary followed with five selections apiece. Coughlin and Delaware Valley had three selections each, while Lake-Lehman added two.
Juniors and seniors were eligible for selection, needing an unweighted 3.5 (out of 4.0) GPA through the first quarter of this school year.
Students with a minimum 3.9 GPA were recognized as Scholars of Distinction.
Monday’s NFHCA list is not to be confused with the Senior Academic Awards that came out in December and were limited to students in Pennsylvania.
Full list of local selections:
COUGHLIN: Ashley Chase, Hannah Rushkowski, Michelle Teletenchi*
CRESTWOOD: Emma Colo*, Emma Janosczyk*, Katie Karpinski*, Mackenzie Kile*, Morghan Murphy, Lauren Shiplett*
DALLAS: Sam Banks, Lauren Delamater*, Emily Farrell, Julia Krawetz, Maria Ostrum, Mindy Ratchford, Sydney Strickland*, Bryce VanDeutsch*, Hannah Yanovich, Grace Young*
DELAWARE VALLEY: Brenna Cavallaro, Emily Covert, Eileen Nikles
HOLY REDEEMER: McKenna Dolan, Kat Finnegan, Kayla Kruk*, Leah Mullery*, Jesse Ornoski*, Chrissy Revitt, Makenzie Savner*, Tiana Wren
LAKE-LEHMAN: Makayla Adams, Hunter Kline
WYOMING AREA: Sarah Baylor, Abigail Gober*, Bayli Grossi*, Lindsey Pozaic, Zoe Prutzman
WYOMING SEMINARY: Lillian Hornung*, Camryn Litjens, Avani Pugazhendi*, Kelsey Reznick*, Emily Sims
VALLEY WEST: Callie Edwards, Emily Latoski*, Karaline Stelma, Irelynd Sullivan, Foto Tsioles, Madison Woods*, Natalie Zasada
* Denotes Scholar of Distinction