(UPDATE: 10:45 P.M.)

District 2 lost two wrestlers by the end of the final consolation round of the day.

Crestwood senior Shane O’Rourke (220) tied his match late with a reversal, but Armstrong’s Ogden Atwood had just enough time to escape for a 4-3 win. In the match before O’Rourke’s, Wallenpaupack’s Tyler Neglia (195) had a chance to tie with time winding down but gave up a decisive takedown to Chartiers Valley’s Shamil Zaynullaev.

The district’s other wrestlers in the first consolation round — Scranton’s Jeremiah Oakes (145) and West Scranton’s Jeremy Seymour (182) — both moved on with wins.

Oakes came ready to wrestle in a 10-0 major decision. Seymour also kept his season going with a 5-2 decision.

(UPDATE: 8:40 P.M.)

While David Evans will wake up tomorrow as the Wyoming Valley Conference’s only state quarterfinalist, the Lackawanna League added three wrestlers to its list later in this evening’s first round.

Scranton senior William Evanitsky was the Lackawanna’s first Class 3A quarterfinalist when he found enough in the tank for a 5-3, sudden-victory decision over Mifflin County freshman Trey Kibe. Evanitsky squandered a lead with two separate stalling violations but pulled off the winning takedown in the extra one-minute period.

Next came Scranton classmate Jacob Burgette, a 10-3 winner over Selinsgrove freshman Coy Bastian. Not long after, Delaware Valley’s Andrew Kidd (182) topped Boyertown junior Jacob Miller, 5-2, to move to his bracket’s quarterfinals.

Five District 2 wrestlers — Valley West’s David Krokowski (126), Del Val’s Mike McKinney (138), Dallas’ Steven Newell (170), Hazleton Area’s Shane Noonan (195) and Del Val’s John McCarthy (220) — lost in the first round but received a bye into Friday’s second consolation round.

Krokowski (126) got pinned in 41 seconds by North Hills sophomore and defending state champion Sam Hillegas. McKinney (138) went from nearly losing by tech fall, to nearly catching Kiski Area’s Noah Levett on his back, to losing in a 13-1 major.

Chamberlain’s Luke Nichter did just enough to top Newell, 3-2, Boyertown’s Elijah Jones pinned Noonan in 2:27, and Shippensburg’s Cole Forrester built a commanding lead in a 12-4 major over McCarthy.

The rest of the district’s wrestlers will try to advance to tomorrow’s second session during the first round of consolations, which are already in progress.

For more updates throughout the tournament, follow @CVEricShultz on Twitter.


HERSHEY — Tunkhannock’s David Evans is one win away from a state medal.

The sophomore won his first-round bout against Cedar Cliff freshman Aiden Lewis, 5-1, to advance to Friday’s quarterfinals at the PIAA Class 3A tournament at the Giant Center in Hershey. Evans is one of 13 wrestlers from District 2 battling for a spot on the state medal stand; the rest are trying to avoid the consolation round or elimination as Thursday evening’s opening session continues.

Lewis kept coming at Evans until the very end of their 106-pound bout, but Evans countered for a clinching takedown late in the third period.

Other D2 wrestlers also had nice starts.

In the preliminaries, Valley West junior David Krokowski (126 pounds) edged Spring Ford freshman Jack McGill, 2-1. Delaware Valley senior Mike McKinney (138) forced overtime with a last-second takedown of Carlisle junior Colton Jumper and went on to score a sudden-victory takedown.

Dallas junior Steven Newell (170) topped Central Mountain senior Tanner Weaver, 4-1, and Hazleton Area junior Shane Noonan (195) worked his way to a 5:34 pin of New Oxford senior Darrick Rudisill. Del Val senior John McCarthy also started with a win, a 7-2 decision over Central Mountain senior Mahlik Houtz.

So far, the only D2 wrestlers to lose were Scranton junior Jeremiah Oakes (145) and Wallenpaupack junior Tyler Neglia (195). Oakes fell to Neshaminy junior Jackson Erb, 4-1, when he failed to rally with a late escape. Neglia also scored late in his bout, but by then William Tennent senior Yusuf Aladinov was well on his way to a 7-3 decision.

For more live updates throughout the tournament, follow @CVEricShultz on Twitter.